I have recut Peter Jackson’s Hobbit trilogy into a single 4-hour film

Because this is what I thought someone needed to do with these films the moment I walked out of the third one. I haven’t watched this cut yet but I applaud the idea and the effort!

The Hobbit: The Tolkien Edit

TolkienEdit_IconLet me start by saying that I enjoy many aspects of Peter Jackson’s Hobbit trilogy. Overall, however, I felt that the story was spoiled by an interminable running time, unengaging plot tangents and constant narrative filibustering. What especially saddened me was how Bilbo (the supposed protagonist of the story) was rendered absent for large portions of the final two films. Back in 2012, I had high hopes of adding The Hobbit to my annual Lord of the Rings marathon, but in its current bloated format, I simply cannot see that happening.

So, over the weekend, I decided to condense all three installments (An Unexpected Journey, The Desolation of Smaug and The Battle of the Five Armies) into a single 4-hour feature that more closely resembled Tolkien’s original novel. Well, okay, it’s closer to 4.5 hours, but those are some long-ass credits! This new version was achieved through a series of…

View original post 1,151 more words

Anime Reporter brings you reviews and insights on anime, manga and whatever else I feel like! Welcome!

Posted in Reviews

Leave a Reply

Follow Anime Reporter on WordPress.com
Anime Reports
September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
