What’s The Worst Anime You’ve Had The Misfortune of Seeing?

I’d really like to know. What is it that drives you crazy about certain anime series? I know a lot of people who bemoan One Piece and Naruto, but often do it for completely different reasons (except filler. There’s always a mention of filler). I’d really love you to tell mein the comments section what your big-time, Hall of Shame least favourite anime series or film is.

I think I probably know what mine is. At least I know the series that comes to mind when someone mentions bad anime. I reviewed it here. I even defended my review pretty adamantly in the comments section of that review. I just couldn’t enjoy Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero.

I thought it was the worst kind of fan service. I don’t even mind fan service. If a series wants to showcase nudity or over the top action, that’s not enough to turn me away from a show. I really enjoyed Highschool DxD, because it was clever enough to have a sense of humour about itself and a halfway interesting premise. Aesthetica, though… it was just fan-service and wish-fulfillment held together with pieces of string. Every move the main character made it clear that he was never in the dark and never struggled for a second. Every situation was an excuse for him to steal someone’s underwear or grab someone’s breasts but no characters in the show ever really had a problem with him. They’d shake a finger and call him a scamp (Didn’t actually happen in the show, at least not that I can remember. That’s just the level of repercussion I recall him dealing with). Really, it felt like the fantasy of a sad and lonely boy who wanted everyone to think he was a super cool ultra badass who was great at sex and always knew how to handle everything. I have no problem with anyone having that fantasy or aspiring to some larger-than-life archetype. I just found it painful to watch and review. Would I watch it again? Absolutely, to make sure that someone else watches it with me so I can show them that it’s everything I’ve told them it is. (I may have ranted once or twice in my private life about this series).

Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero 24 Akatsuki Myuu

“Let me just make sure this metaphor for my giant penis is attached and we can have an adventure that involves me taking off your clothes to throw at an enemy that I can easily defeat in any other way, even though nobody else can. I’ve had sex before.” (Not quite actual dialogue from this series, but certainly fits the tone.)

Really, it felt like the fantasy of a sad and lonely boy who wanted everyone to think he was a super cool ultra badass who was great at sex and always knew how to handle everything. I have no problem with anyone having that fantasy or aspiring to some larger-than-life archetype. I just found it painful to watch and review. Would I watch it again? Absolutely, to make sure that someone else watches it with me so I can show them that it’s everything I’ve told them it is. (I may have ranted once or twice in my private life about this series).

Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero 11 Akatsuki Myuu

I’m 50% sure that the male character, Akatsuki, was asleep in this scene.

But I’ve ranted enough about this series in my review here. I invite you to check out that review, whether it’s just to stare at the many pictures of anime boobs that litter said review, or to see it the words taking up the spaces between booby-pictures seem reasonable to you.

What do you think? Let me know. What’s the anime you hate to watch or love to hate? What makes you roll your eyes and grit your teeth? What anime would you prefer to never have heard of?

 

Anime Reporter brings you reviews and insights on anime, manga and whatever else I feel like! Welcome!

Posted in Spotlight of Shame, The Reporter's Desk
11 comments on “What’s The Worst Anime You’ve Had The Misfortune of Seeing?
  1. renxkyoko says:

    I actually have a lot, but this particular anime, Aesthetica of a Rogue hero, just stood out. It is the first in my list .. And unsurprisingly, it is your worst one too.

    • Awesome! I’m not alone on this one! What was it you dislike about Aesthetica? What other shows make the list?

      • renxkyoko says:

        I’m really bad at remembering Japanese titles. Anyways, the rogue hero is a sex maniac . He’s nothing of value.

      • Agreed. I also found it tiresome the way every obstacle and challenge for any other character was immediately overcome as soon as the protagonist expended any effort whatsoever. It was like the universe of this story was trying to condone the character in every situation. Not just obnoxious, but bland storytelling.

  2. josefcd904 says:

    Someone understands me, this anime is the worse thing I have ever seen. I wish I could go back in time and slap myself and say “No, don’t, bad.” Just so I did not have to go through the experience.

    • Wow, I really wasn’t expecting two people to agree with me about Aesthetica straight off the bat, thanks very much for sharing your thoughts! Are there any other series you wish you could unwatch?

      • josefcd904 says:

        Samurai Flamenco, it felt like they had no idea what direction they wanted to take the plot in the second half. I get that it was a parody or trying to play it off as one. But the character development got worse over time and the ending, well it seemed pointless.

      • I haven’t seen this series but it certainly sounds like something I’d avoid from your description.

  3. LitaKino says:

    Ahaha I chucked a little and found amusing the anime come up. I own this series on DVD shamefully, I only bought it because I am a fanatic collector. I agree this anime is not the greatest and has some shameless fan service in there oh boy, I’m not afraid to admit I’ve watched this series twice the second time round was due to buying it. Not remembering if I did not like this anime and when watching it gave me barrels of laughs for how terrible it was LOL

    One anime I came to hate at first was recently Shangrila could not get into it, was confused but I ended up loving it at the same time hating it for a few issues 😛

    Hate is a strong word I have always found too hard to say about an anime I did not enjoy last one for me was dance in the vampire bund.

    • I can understand the need for a complete collection 🙂 I definitely wanted to like Aesthetica, I really tried to, but I just couldn’t find redemption in it. I’m glad you were able to enjoy Shangrila though, it’s a great feeling when a series surprises you in the best way!
      Dance in the Vampire Bund? I’m not familiar with it, but I’ll look into it 🙂 What did you dislike about it?

      • LitaKino says:

        I know your not the only one I have come across that has urms and ahhs about rouge hero it’s not really a well liked series. It’s as it sounds about vampires, there are only a few good vampire anime top of the list would be shiki and hell sing.

        The plot was average, the main female protagonist very spoiled nature and her childish behavior was hard to bear while watching, no characters were really that likeable, quite a few with bland personalities and I was left disappointed a bit however the manga is suppose to be better so I’ll give that a shot.

Leave a Reply

Follow Anime Reporter on WordPress.com
Anime Reports
April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
